The United Republic of Tanzania, President's Office Regional Administration and Local Goverment, Mbeya Region

Welcome to Mbeya Region

Mbeya Region is located on the south-west of Tanzania mainland, commonly known as Southern highland. It boarders with four Regions namely Rukwa, Tabora, Iringa and Ruvuma.

Mbeya Region is located in the south-western corner of the southern highlands of Tanzania.  The Region lies between latitude 70 and 90 31’ south of the Equator and between longitude 320 and 350 east of Greenwich. In 2015 Mbeya Region was divided into two Regions of Mbeya and Songwe.
The newly formed Mbeya Region, shares borders with the Republic of Malawi and Zambia to the South, Songwe Region to the West, Singida and Tabora Regions to the North and Iringa and Njombe Regions to the East with Kasumulu in Kyela district being the main entrie and exit into the neighbouring country of Malawi.