The United Republic of Tanzania, President's Office Regional Administration and Local Goverment, Mbeya Region

Regional Administrative Units

Administratively, Mbeya Region is divided into seven districts with eight Local Government Authorities namely: Chunya, Mbeya, Mbozi, Ileje, Kyela, Rungwe, Mbarali,Momba,Busokelo and Mbeya city.

It is further sub divided into divisions, wards, villages, streets and hamlets. Table 1.2 shows that though the number of divisions and wards among districts differ slightly, the number of villages and hamlets differ
very significantly, ranging from 70 to 175 in Chunya and Mbozi and 310 to 1,010 in Chunya and Mbeya districts respectively.